Skip to Content

Forensics & Debate

Texas State sponsors the:

  • LBJ Debate Society

  • Elton Abernathy Forensics Society

  • Coronal Philosophical Society

Wayne Kraemer is the President of the Texas Intercollegiate Forensics Association and Operations Manager for the Cross Examination Debate Association (CEDA) National Debate Tournament. He is also the University Interscholastic League Debate Consultant, advising on debate polices and issues in Texas. Mr. Kraemer directs the LBJ Debate Society and the Elton Abernathy Forensics Society. The students he directed have received state, regional, and international acclaim, and he and his team are regularly invited to attend international events. The South Central Region of CEDA has honored Wayne Kraemer as the Coach of the Year in 1997 and again in 1998.

For more information, contact Wayne Kraemer at

The LBJ Debate Society

The LBJ Debate Society is named for the former President Lyndon B. Johnson who debated for Texas State under Prof. H.M. Greene. This competitive debate offers primarily British Parliamentary Debating (BP), also known as World Style Debate and National Parliamentary Debate Association (NPDA) team-parliamentary debate. The teams travel locally, regionally, and nationally. Scholarships are available to those who qualify for international competition.”

The LBJ Debate Society is one of the oldest societies on campus dating back to the "Chautauqua Literary Society." This society began in 1903 as a men's society and traveled to debates throughout Texas. President Lyndon Banes Johnson competed on this team from 1927-1930.

There are no membership fees or dues, and anyone who is a Texas State student can join. Meetings are held Tuesday evenings at 5 p.m. in CENT 318.

The Elton Abernathy Forensics Society

The Elton Abernathy Forensics Society is Texas State's competitive speech team. They are a member of the American Forensics Society Individual Events Tournament (AFA-NIET) and travel a local, regional, and national circuit with emphasis on qualification for the NIET. The society is named for Dr. Abernathy, a former departmental chair and long-time supporter.

The Coronal Philosophical Society is one of the most comprehensive debate and forensics programs in Texas is The Coronal Philosophical Society which sponsors public debates for the campus and community. These debates are conducted in a forum style that allows for audience participation.

MEMBERSHIP and participation in any of the societies is open to all students at Texas State. However, travel is assigned to students who meet the work requirement for that tournament. Meetings are held every Tuesday at 5 p.m.

SCHOLARSHIPS are awarded at the end of the academic year. Called Spring Award, they are one-time stipends based on accomplishment, work ethic, or commitment to the team. Students are also eligible for membership in Pi Kappa Delta, a national forensics honorary.